MILWAUKEE (March 10) — Milwaukee Wave goalkeeper Marcel Feenstra and defender Judson McKinney are candidates for Major Indoor Soccer League season awards, the league announced Monday.

Feenstra is up for Goalkeeper of the Year against Baltimore's William Vanzela and Missouri's Danny Waltman. McKinney goes up for Rookie of the Year with Missouri's Max Touloute and St. Louis' Odaine Sinclair.

Feenstra, in his seventh season with Milwaukee, posted a 13-3 record with a 10.06 points-allowed average. He played every match after veteran Nick Vorberg was lost for the season with a hand injury back in December, helping the Wave to a second-place finish in the MISL at 16-4.

In his career, Feenstra has a 56-14 regular-season record (.800) and was the MVP of the 2011 MISL Championship Game.

McKinney, born in the Ivory Coast, played in college at Cincinnati. With the Wave, McKinney played in all 20 matches this season, scoring 13 points and finishing second on the Wave with 24 blocks.

Other nominees are:

Most Valuable Player

  • Kenardo Forbes, Syracuse Silver Knights
  • Leo Gibson, Missouri Comets
  • Mike Lookingland, Baltimore Blast

Defender of the Year

  • Brian Harris, Missouri Comets
  • Mike Lookingland, Baltimore Blast
  • Nelson Santana, Syracuse Silver Knights

Coach of the Year

  • Vlatko Andonovski, Missouri Comets
  • Danny Kelly, Baltimore Blast
  • Tommy Tanner, Syracuse Silver Knights

The winners will be announced at the MISL Championship Series media luncheon/awards ceremony prior to Game 1 of the 2013-14 MISL Championship Series. The 2013-14 All-MISL First and Second teams and the MISL All-Rookie Team will be announced on Tuesday.