Arena soccer league owners confirm 20-game regular season, new governance structure, playoff format and scoring system for the league’s second season.

Major Arena Soccer League owners took action on several items in an effort to build upon a successful first season during the league’s recently completed meetings hosted by the St. Louis Ambush at Mercy Hospital in St. Louis, Missouri.

Owners decided to reorganize the leadership structure of the league, appointing a board of five members to oversee the league, while Kevin Milliken, the Commissioner of the inaugural season, has been moved to the league’s Vice President of Business Development and Jonathan Ramin will serve as Vice President of Operations.

“Merging two leagues, especially in the short period of time it was done, is no easy task. All of us owners communicated the areas we felt needed to be addressed and we made some tough decisions as a group. This was time well spent”, said Mike Zimmerman, President of the newly appointed Board of Directors for the 2015-16 MASL Season. “The league is progressing forward and we look forward to a very bright future, but we must continue to sand down our rough edges just like any new business."

Among the key items approved by league owners at the meeting was a single scoring system for the entire MASL. League owners voted to enact single-point scoring league wide for the 2015-16 season, after an opening season in which four teams used a multi-point scoring format during their home games.

“We listened to the fans’ concerns about having two scoring systems, and decided immediately upon the need for a unified scoring system,” said Jonathan Ramin, VP of Operations for the MASL.

The league’s schedule and playoff format was also approved at the meeting. Each team will play a 20-game regular season schedule, with the top three teams in each division advancing to the post-season.

The league’s 20-game season will kickoff November 1, 2015 and completed by February 28, 2016 with Playoffs beginning March 1, 2016.

The league’s structure will also include several committees led by owners, each focusing on a separate part of the league’s operations, which will allow for more input from each member team.

More details about the 2015-16 season will be announced over the coming months, including final division alignments and a full schedule.


Milwaukee Wave:
From its humble beginnings in 1984, the Milwaukee Wave has evolved and grown to be a national success with 6 championships and a leader in community outreach. As the oldest continuously operating professional soccer team in North America, the Milwaukee Wave has had the unique ability to make a positive impact in their community while carrying on their reputation as a winning team. The evolution of the Milwaukee Wave can be traced from its conception to present day by taking a look at the major turning points throughout the team’s 30-year history. for more.

MKE Sports & Entertainment:
MKE Sports & Entertainment owns and operates professional sports team, sports complexes, and other entertainment entities in the Midwest including The Rock Sports Complex in Milwaukee, the Milwaukee Wave Professional Soccer Team playing in the Major Arena Soccer League, the Kokomo Jackrabbits Baseball team (Kokomo, Indiana) and Jamestown Jammers (Jamestown, New York) playing in the Prospect League. For even more information about MKE Sports & Entertainment and everything we do visit

Major Arena Soccer League:
The MASL was formed in 2014 by teams from the Professional Arena Soccer League and Major Indoor Soccer League. The league represents the highest level of professional indoor soccer in the world, and features 24 teams across North America, with teams playing coast-to-coast in the United States and Mexico.